The Latest

Mortal Kombat X (2015)

Ed Boon and his amazing team of developers at NetherRealm Studios have upped the ante with their latest installment of Mortal Kombat. An epic story mode will be available, old and new characters round out the massive roster, plenty of brutal mechanics will spruce up each battle etc. Mortal Kombat X is coming with one of the most complete packages ever offered in a fighting game.

NetherRealm Studios has been giving us regular updates regarding the cast characters for Mortal Kombat X, for some time now. At long last the full roster has been revealed. The game will include 24 fighters, with the addition of Goro for those who pre-order the game.

The Mortal Kombat X roster will be expanded by four DLC characters, which include: Predator, Jason Voorhees, Tanya and Tremor. These will be released from late April until July.

Below is the complete roster of Mortal Kombat X:

Cassie Cage, D’Vorah, Ermac, Ferra/Torr, Goro (pre-order), Jacqui Briggs, Jax, Johnny Cage, Kano, Kenshi, Kitana, Kotal Kahn, Kung Jin, Kung Lao, Liu Kang, Mileena, Quan Chi, Raiden, Reptile, Scorpion, Shinnok, Sonya Blade, Sub-Zero, Takeda, Tanya (DLC), Tremor (DLC), Jason Voorhees (DLC), Predator (DLC)

Mortal Kombat fans seem to be quite satisfied with the characters that will be available for Mortal Kombat X, and while certain fan favorites like Cyrax, Sektor and Smoke are missing from the line-up, there’s always a chance that they will be making an appearance later, with future DLC.

Mortal Kombat X DLC Characters. From left to Right (Tremor, Tanya, Predator, & Jason Voorhees)

Ed Boon has also teased Spawn, so it seems that the beloved comic book character will also be making his return to Mortal Kombat.

Even with the brutally awesome cast of characters assembled, the fatalities and brutalities have gotten bigger and more brutal when MK9 was released, but we don’t need to tell you by now that Mortal Kombat X is getting even more brutal. The old school brutalities are back! Netherrealm are bringing back the limb snapping finishers from the past. These brutal finishing moves were first Introduced back in 1995 to give Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3 more bang for its buck.

FINISH HIM!!! Raiden wins! Fatality!

The Story has rebooted itself, but the plot has expanded the MK Universe on a whole new level of brutality.

Mortal Kombat X’s plot continues 25 years into the future and follows the conclusion of the last entry in the series. Shao Khan has been defeated, but Shinnok takes his place in attacking Earth with his army of Netherrealm forces. Shinnok resurrects and employs the aid of the Earthrealm warriors that perished in the last game.

Former characters such as Johnny Cage, Sonya Blade and Kenshi re-enter the war and do their part by opening a portal to the Jinsei Chamber, which holds the entirety of Earthrealm’s life force. They arrive just in time to find Raiden and Fujin doing battle with Shinnok. Eventually, they manage to imprison Shinnok within his magical amulet. However, Quan Chi manages to escape. That’s just the opening stages of the game’s Story Mode, so there’s a lot more to play through.

Mortal Kombat X – In the front: (Cassie Cage, Kung Jin) & in the back (Takashi Takeda, and Jacqui Briggs)

MKX’s Story Mode will not only feature the high production values and epic cutscenes seen in the last game, it will also include non-linear moments. These moments will play out in the form of Quick-Time Events that determine how the biggest moments for each character plays out.

New mechanics to the franchise old and new are back to refresh the game.

Some of the older mechanics from Mortal Kombat will be returning, such as Brutality finishing moves, running up to opponents, X-Ray’s and the familiar use of gut-wrenching Fatalities. As for what features are being added, the “Quitality” will be making its debut. This move instantly kills an opposing player if they rage quit during an online match.

And finally, Faction Kills are the type of finishing moves that are tied to each of the game’s selectable factions. Check out the video posted above to get a look at a Quitality.

If Quitality isn’t enough for you NetherRealm Studios has made this feature this return special for the MK fans.

One of the cooler mechanics making its return from the 3D renditions of the series is multiple fighting styles. Only this time, each character will have to be selected with their chosen gameplay variation before a fight. This chosen play style will be used throughout the entirety of the proceeding battle.

For example, Raiden’s fighting styles includes Thunder God, Displacer, and Storm Lord. Each fighting style changes up the repertoire for a chosen character and adopts a different way of approaching each fight.

Mortal Kombat X – Raiden’s Variations

From the story mode, characters (old & new), fatalities-brutalities-quitalities, and variations it seems like Mortal Kombat will be the greatest game in the franchise’s history.

It’s crazy to see how far Mortal Kombat X has come. One day, we were all just sitting in front of our computers watching Scorpion and Sub-Zero battle to the sounds of Wiz Khalifa. And now, we’re in 2015 and the game’s release is closer than ever.

Mortal Kombat X will release April 14 on Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and PC. Current Gen machines, Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 however will have to wait a little longer as the game has been delayed on this format.

About sparxteam (2384 Articles)
Our mission is to provide you with a dynamic and integrity-driven outlet for entertainment in any aspect.
%d bloggers like this: